Grand Atlas Prize 2009

Grand Atlas Prize 2009Created in 1991 by the French Embassy in Morocco, the Grand Atlas Prize aims at promoting the Moroccan publishing industry. it rewards literary Moroccans works written in French and, since 2004, Arabic translations of French literary works.

Among the prize winners, some famous Moroccan writers and intellectuals like Hind Taarji, Driss Chraibi, Mohamed Ennaji, Mohamed Kabli, Abdou Filaly-Ansary or Mohammed Bennis.

The 16th edition will be held under the presidency of Régis Debray, philosopher and founder of the Cahiers de médiologie and current president of the European Institut of Religious Sciences. The jury will also be composed of Makram Abbes, Ahmed Alami, Ali Benmakhlouf, Mounia Belafia, Samira Ezzel, and Jean-Robert Henry. The jury will award one prize for a literary work in French and one prize for a work translated from French into Arabic.

The selected books are representative of the Moroccan publishing production.

The prize handing ceremony will take place on Tuesday 16th of June 2009 at the Residence de France in the presence of Sir Jean-Francois Thibault, Ambassador of France in Morocco.


Related Posts

«Dignity should be restored to the Moroccans»


«Dignity should be restored to the Moroccans»Interview with Fathiya Yaâcoubi, president of the local section of the Moroccan Association for Human Rights at Larache.

Muslims and Jews of Tétouan. Testimonials


tetou 110wwM'Hammad Bennaboud is a historian who knows every stone of the Medina of Tetouan, but also the great changes that the city has gone through since the last century to the present day. He tells the story of coexistence between Jews and Muslims in the area.

“Tilila”: A Shelter for Women to Recover Freedom


“Tilila”: A Shelter for Women to Recover Freedom Tilila, one of the first shelters for women victims of violence, highlights the contradictions persisting in the Moroccan judicial system.